Las Vegas Motor Speedway

  • Events
  • Photos

Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Las Vegas Motor Speedway, located in Clark County, Nevada, is a 1,200 acres (490 ha) complex of multiple tracks for automobile racing. The complex is owned by Speedway Motorsports, Inc., which is headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The Indy Racing League opened the 1.5-mile superspeedway on September 15, 1996.

The Winston No Bull 5 Million Dollar Bonus was held at the track from 1999 to 2002. Jeff Burton won a million dollars in 2000 and Jeff Gordon won the bonus in 2001. Burton in 1999 and Sterling Marlin in 2002 were not eligible.

Champ Car held two races at the speedway in 2004 and 2005, both were won by Sébastien Bourdais.

In 2006, plans were announced to reconfigure the track after the March 2006 NEXTEL Cup Series (now Sprint Cup Series) race. This reconfiguration entailed "progressive banking" which increases the degree of banking the further up the track you are located. This increased side-by-side racing. The speedway also constructed a fan zone called The Neon Garage. This area has live entertainment, unprecedented access to the drivers and teams and is home to the Winner's Circle. The speedway moved pit road 275 feet (84 m) closer to the grandstands, built a new media center and added a quarter-mile Legends Cars oval in the tri-oval area.

As of August 8, 2006 the newly reconfigured track reopened to stock cars. 2004 NASCAR Cup Champion and Las Vegas native Kurt Busch, who drives the #2 Miller Lite Penske Dodge, became the first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup (Now Sprint Cup Series) driver to test a stock car on the newly reconfigured track. Jeff Burton became the first driver to win on the newly paved LVMS in a Busch Series (Now Nationwide Series) Monte Carlo SS. Jimmie Johnson won the first NEXTEL Cup Series race after its reconfiguration. He also drove a Chevrolet to Victory Lane.


Featured Events Nearby